Skip to main content


Main Content
Samuel Schlup and José Francisco Henriquez with their Beto Awards

A university is only as strong as its facilities, which is why outstanding facilities employees are honored with the Beto Cruz Award. This award serves as an opportunity to acknowledge and celebrate individuals who work tirelessly to support the TCU campus. 

“The Beto Cruz Award was created by the Faculty Senate in the fall of 2020 as part of its effort to commemorate the passing of two TCU community members who died of COVID complications during the pandemic: Rob Rhodes from the Neeley School and Beto Cruz from Facilities,” said Dan Williams, TCU honors professor of humanities in the John V. Roach Honors College and a leader of this effort. “The Faculty Senate recognized Rob Rhodes by recommending him for a posthumous honorary doctorate, which he received, and to commemorate Beto Cruz, the Faculty Senate decided to create a permanent award in his name.” 

The awards first-ever recipient was José Francisco Henriquez, a member of TCU’s housekeeping staff. With over two decades of service, Henriquez was nominated for his excellent work ethic, positive attitude and commitment to the campus community. When he was nominated, his form stated: “There is no one in AddRan College who does not know him … José goes the extra mile to help.”

This year’s recipient is Sam Schlup, a TCU Facilities employee who serves as the supervisor of the plumbing team. Schlup is known for his leadership and hard work on a variety of plumbing projects in the Sid W. Richardson Physical Sciences Building. 

“He is never too busy to help and is always smiling with great suggestions on how to best solve the problem,” said Omar Harvey, associate professor of geological sciences and current chair of Faculty Senate. “If he can't help you, he knows exactly who could and will make sure your problem gets fixed.” 

Schlup exemplifies the values of the TCU community with his expert knowledge and his friendly demeanor, according to his nomination. 

Each year nominations are solicited from TCU faculty and staff, and a committee of faculty and staff review each one. Recipients receive a monetary award of $1,000 and will have their names engraved in a permanent plaque.